Fairytale Beauty and life

Tips en ervaringen over beauty en life

NOTD: Negative spaces tape

2 Comments

You can also read this post on my nail art blog here: http://wp.me/p36tBT-bJ

Voor de NOTD van deze week heb ik weer eens een poging gedaan met tape… Het moest toch een keertje echt lukken? En het leek me leuk om eens een clear lakje met een gekleurd lakje te combineren. Negative space manicures vind ik altijd zo gaaf bij anderen, maar eigenlijk had ik het zelf nog nooit geprobeerd. Dat werd dus hoog tijd!

For today’s NOTD I did another attempt at a tape mani… It had to work out well sometime, right? Also, I thought it’d be fun to combine a clear polish with a coloured one. I always really like how negative space manicures look on other people, but I had never tried it myself. So, why not try it now?

Ik ben begonnen met een Nail Candies lakje van Essence, in de kleur Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch. Nouja, kleur… Op de nagels is hij vrijwel doorzichtig. Precies wat ik zocht, dus. En hij zou dan ook nog eens de nagels versterken. Verder is het trouwens een scented lakje, hij ruikt heerlijk zoet en fruitig.

In het aanbrengen is hij ook prettig, en droogt snel. Om de nagels wat extra bescherming te geven, heb ik 2 laagjes gebruikt.

I’ve started out with a Nail Candies polish by Essence, in the colour ‘Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch’. Well, colour… On the nails, it’s pretty much clear. Exactly what I was looking for. And it’s also supposed to strengthen the nails. Also, it’s a scented nail polish, and smells sweet and fruity. Which is also nice.

This nail polish applies easily and dries fast. To give the nails some extra protection, I applied 2 layers.

En dan de tape! Ik heb striping tape gebruikt die ik ooit via Ebay heb besteld, en daar 15 stukjes van geknipt. Oké, verkeerd geteld en er 16 geknipt, maar ik heb er dus 15 gebruikt per hand 😉 Dan een simpel patroontje op iedere nagel, gevolgd door een laagje nagellak.

Twee tips; houdt ten eerste in de gaten welk stuk tape als eerste is aangebracht. Die moet er namelijk als laatste weer af. Dus eigenlijk gewoon eerst de bovenste eraf en dan degene die daaronder zat enzovoorst, zodat alles er netje af gaat. En het is ook handig om een lakje te kiezen dat dekt in één laag, met twee lagen lak heb je namelijk kans dat de lijnen niet strak blijven. Ik heb Berry Potter and Plumbledore gebruikt, van Catrice.

Deze keer is het daadwerkelijk gelukt! En waardoor? Gewoon door wat langer te wachten voordat ik de tape verwijderde, ongeveer een minuutje ofzo.

Then it’s time for tape! I used a striping tape that I bought on Ebay a long time ago, and cut 15 pieces off of that. Okay, I counted wrong and cut 16 pieces. But I only used 15 per hand 😉 Then I made a simple pattern onto each nail, followed by a layer of nail polish.

Two tips; keep in mind which piece of tape was applied first. That one should come off last. Basically, they have to be taken off in the reverse order in which they were put on, so everything comes off without pulling at the others. And it’s also a good idea to pick a nail polish that covers in one single layer. If you need two layers, chances are that the lines won’t stay neat. I used ‘Berry Potter and Plumbledore’ by Catrice.

This time, it actually worked! The reason? I waited longer before removing the tape, about a minute or so.

Tot slot heb ik een topcoat aangebracht, om alles mooi glad en glanzend te krijgen. En dan is de mani alweer klaar!

To finish it off, I added a layer of topcoat. Just to get everything smooth and shiny. And then the nail art is done already!

2 thoughts on “NOTD: Negative spaces tape

  1. Ziet er heel apart uit, nooit eerder gezien zo

  2. This nail art is the best thing ever. I’m gonna see if my lady can do that for me when I go next week.

Leave a Reply

